المساءلة في سوريا

تعزيز العدالة والمساءلة في سوريا

مع استمرار العنف في سوريا واستمرار اتهام الحكومة السورية وجماعات المعارضة المسلحة بارتكاب الفظائع فإن الحاجة إلى إرساء شكل من أشكال المساءلة ما زال أمرًا ملحًا. بعد انهيار سيادة القانون في معظم أنحاء سوريا وفشل مجلس الأمن التابع للأمم المتحدة في إحالة سوريا إلى المحكمة الجنائية الدولية، ما هي الآمال المتبقية لتحقيق العدالة للمدنيين السوريين؟ وهل من الممكن السعي لتحقيق العدالة أثناء استمرار النزاع؟

يعمل مركز سيسفاير لحقوق المدنيين على تقييم الخيارات الحالية للمُساءلة والأثر المرجح على الضحايا السوريين. تم نشر تقرير خطوة نحو العدالة: الخيارات الحالية للمُساءلة من اجل سوريامن قبل سيسفاير وشركائها في المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة. وقد تم إطلاقه أمام وفود الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك في فعلية استضافتها البعثة النرويجية لدى الأمم المتحدة وكذلك في الفعليات التي أقيمت في واشنطن العاصمة (استضافتها نقابة المحامين الأمريكية) ولندن التي ضمت سعادة السيدة باتريشيا والد والسيد جيفري نيس مستشار الملكة.

وفي ظل الإفلات من العقاب على نطاق واسع أصبحت هناك حاجة ماسة إلى نهج استراتيجي لتقفي الخيارات المتاحة للمُساءلة. وبدعم مجاني من شركة المحاماة آلن واوفري (Allen & Overy LLP) تم الاضطلاع بالأعمال التحضيرية لتقييم جدوى رفع قضايا خارجية جنائية ومدنية متعلقة بالانتهاكات الجسيمة لحقوق المدنيين في سوريا. اعتمادًا على القوانين الوطنية المعمول بها يمكن رفع القضايا أمام السلطات القضائية في اوروبا أو في أمريكا الشمالية أو غيرها، بما في ذلك الدول التي قد يكون فر إليها الجناة السوريون أو التي التمس فيها اللجوء الضحايا السوريون.

وعلى الرغم من ذلك فإن قدرة المدنيين السوريين سواء في سوريا أو في المنفى على رفع مثل هذه القضايا محدودة للغاية. يسعى هذا المشروع إلى معالجة هذه الفجوة كخطوة على طريق العدالة بهدف تحقيق بعض من المساءلة التي قد تكون محدودة ولكن ذات أهمية حيوية أثناء النزاع. حتى لو حدث شكل من أشكال الانتقال في سوريا فإن نتائجه ستكون غير مؤكدة وستظل عمليات العدالة الانتقالية الفعالة بعيدة المنال. كما أن تحسين قدرة السوريين على توثيق وتحضير ورفع القضايا سيمهد الطريق لأي عملية عدالة ومصالحة أكبر وأكثر شمولاً في المستقبل.

الشركاء الرئيسيون في هذا المشروع هم:

  • آلن واوفري ال ال بي(Allen & Overy LLP) هي شركة محاماة كبرى تمتلك انتشار عالمي أكبر من أي شركة محاماة اخرى مع شبكة تغطي الآن 46 مكتبًا في 32 دولة. تستخدم الشركة عملها المجاني والاستثمار المجتمعي هذه الشبكة لإيجاد حلول لبعض القضايا الأكثر إلحاحًا في المجتمع.

  • يحتفظ المركز السوري للعدالة والمساءلة (SJAC)، ومقره لاهاي والعاصمة واشنطن، بأرشيف لتوثيق الانتهاكات المرتكبة في سوريا لأغراض دعم الجهود المبذولة لتحقيق العدالة الانتقالية، ويتم دعمه بشكل متعدد الجوانب من خلال مجموعة أصدقاء الشعب السوري.

تشمل التقارير الصادرة عن سوريا ما يلي:

  • خطوة نحو العدالة: الخيارات الحالية للمساءلة عن الجرائم المرتكبة في سوريا بموجب القانون الدولي (إنجليزي / عربي).

  • الضحايا المدنيين المتوفين جراء الضربات الجوية ضد داعش 2014-2015 (إنجليزي / عربي)

Sianالمساءلة في سوريا

Accountability in Syria

Promoting justice and accountability in Syria

As the Syrian war continues with no end in sight and regular allegations of atrocities continue to be made against both the Syrian government and armed opposition groups, the need to establish some form of accountability remains acute. Following the collapse of rule of law in most of Syria, and the failure of the UN Security Council to refer Syria to the International Criminal Court, what hopes remain for justice for Syrian civilians? Is it feasible to pursue justice while the conflict is ongoing?

The Ceasefire Centre for Civilian Rights has been working to evaluate current accountability options and the potential impact on Syrian victims. ‘A Step towards Justice: Current accountability options for Syria’ was published jointly by Ceasefire and our partners the Syria Justice and Accountability Centre and launched before UN delegations in New York at an event hosted by the Norwegian mission to the UN, and at events in Washington DC (hosted by the American Bar Association) and London featuring the Hon Patricia Wald and Sir Geoffrey Nice QC.

In the context of very widespread impunity, a strategic approach to pursuing available accountability options is urgently needed. With pro bono support from Allen & Overy LLP, preparatory work has been undertaken to assess the feasibility of bringing extra-territorial cases, both criminal and civil, concerning gross violations of the rights of civilians in Syria. Depending on the national laws in place, cases may be brought in European, North American or other jurisdictions, including those where Syrian perpetrators may have fled or Syrian victims may have sought refuge.

However, the capacity of Syrian civilians, both in Syria and in exile, to bring such cases is very limited. This project seeks to address this gap as a step on the path of justice, aiming to achieve some limited but vitally important accountability during the conflict. Even if some form of transition occurs in Syria in the near future, its outcome will be uncertain and effective transitional justice processes are years away. Improving the capacity of Syrians to document, prepare and bring cases will also prepare the ground for any larger, more comprehensive justice and reconciliation process in the future.

Key partners on this project are:

  • Allen & Overy LLP has the largest global reach of any major law firm, with a network now spanning 46 offices in 32 countries. The firm’s pro bono and community investment work uses this network to find solutions to some of society’s most pressing issues.
  • The Syria Justice and Accountability Centre (SJAC), based in The Hague and Washington DC, maintains an archive of documentation of violations committed in Syria for the purposes of transitional justice efforts, and is supported multilaterally through the Group of Friends of the Syrian People.

Reports produced on Syria include:

  • A Step towards Justice: Current accountability options for crimes under international law committed in Syria (English/Arabic)
  • Civilian deaths in the anti-ISIS bombing campaigns 2014-2015 (English/Arabic)
SianAccountability in Syria